Walk 1. ‘To be an “Experimental Woman Writer”'. Three words, three difficulties.

Dr. Hannah Van Hove, FWO postdoctoral researcher at the VUB, invites you to relive part of the childhood of novelist Christine Brooke-Roose (1923-2012).

In her book, titled Invisible Author, the experimental British writer asked, "Have you ever tried to do something very difficult as best you could, over a long period of time, and then found out that no one noticed?” That unfortunately happened to Brooke-Rose herself, whose novels and critical writings were largely forgotten after her death. Yet, Brooke-Rose wrote wonderfully innovative fiction in which she conducted various grammatical and typographical experiments with language and form..

In her last novel, "Life, End Of," she described her experiences growing up in Brussels. We invite you to join us for a walk-and-talk in which we revisit this novel, exploring the neighborhood Brooke-Rose used to live in, whilst hearing about the concerns, influences and legacies of this neglected writer. Follow the route on your smartphone or tablet and listen as Dr. Van Hove explains at various stops why this specific place is significant in the story of Christine Brooke-Rose. The walk will be available in Dutch and English. 

Link to the app that allows you to walk the route, enjoying the accompanying videos.

 

Walk 2. A city tour with Berber people from Brussels

During the Interlitratour festival, various self-organisations and individual artists will be organising an interactive, digital walk that sheds light on Amazigh literature through poetry, song and music by Berber people in Brussels. 

During this walk, the different aspects of Amazigh culture are considered. Different Berber, Tarifit and Arabic works will be presented, with a translation into French and Dutch, we will bring the poems to life through songs and we will let the participants discover the world of the Berber culture. As a visitor, you will enjoy the stories that different Berber people from Brussels tell you through poetry readings, music, song and images at different points during your walk through Brussels. 

This walk can be done completely on your own, but we also plan to offer this guided walk when we can.

A link to this walk will appear here in May.

09/11 > 14:00 NL

10/11 > 14:00 EN

« Être une écrivaine expérimentale ». Trois mots, trois difficultés.

Léon Mahillonlaan 34 Schaarbeek

Dr. Hannah Van Hove, postdoctorante FWO à la VUB, vous invite à revivre une partie de l'enfance de la romancière Christine Brooke-Roose (1923-2012).

Dans son livre intitulé Invisible Author, l'écrivaine expérimentale britannique demande : « Avez-vous déjà essayé de faire quelque chose de vraiment difficile du mieux que vous pouviez, sur une longue période de temps, et découvert ensuite que personne ne l'avait remarqué ? » C'est malheureusement ce qui est arrivé à Brooke-Rose elle-même, dont les romans et les écrits critiques ont été largement oubliés après sa mort. Pourtant, Brooke-Rose a écrit une fiction merveilleusement innovante dans laquelle elle a mené diverses explorations grammaticales et typographiques du langage et de la forme. 

Dans son dernier roman, « Life, End Of », elle décrit son enfance à Bruxelles. Nous vous invitons à vous promener, à explorer le quartier où vivait Brooke-Rose et à découvrir les thèmes, les influences et l'héritage de cette écrivaine oubliée. Suivez l'itinéraire sur votre smartphone ou votre tablette et écoutez le Dr. Van Hove vous expliquer, à différents moments, pourquoi ce lieu particulier est important dans l'histoire de Christine Brooke-Rose. La promenade sera disponible en néerlandais et en anglais. 

 

HANNAH VAN HOVE

Le lien vers l’application à utiliser pour parcourir l’itinéraire et aussi découvrir des courtes vidéos sera mis à disposition sur cette page. 

12/11 > 14:00 NL/FR

Avec les Berbères de Bruxelles

Départ du promenade
au Kaaitheater
Sainctelettesquare 20

Pendant le festival Interlitratour, plusieurs organisations et artistes individuels organisent une promenade virtuelle interactive qui met en lumière la littérature amazighe à travers la poésie, la chanson et la musique. 

Au cours de cette promenade, les différents aspects de la culture amazighe seront présentés. Différentes œuvres berbères, tarifit et arabes seront exposées, avec une traduction en français et en néerlandais. Nous donnerons vie aux poèmes à travers le chant et nous ferons découvrir aux participants le monde de la culture berbère. En tant que visiteur, vous pourrez apprécier la version digitale de tout cela ainsi que les histoires qui vous seront racontées par différents Berbères à travers des lectures de poésie, de la musique, des chansons et des images à différents moments de votre promenade à travers Bruxelles. 

Cette promenade peut être effectuée de manière totalement autonome, mais nous prévoyons également de proposer cette promenade avec un guide quand cela sera possible.

AMAZIGH

 

Le lien vers l’application à utiliser pour parcourir l’itinéraire et aussi découvrir des courtes vidéos sera mis à disposition sur cette page.